Miscellaneous » News Pages » RP School District Equity Committee

RP School District Equity Committee

Yesterday evening, a guilty verdict was announced in the trial of Derek Chauvin, The murder of  George Floyd last May at the hands of Derek Chauvin brought to light the long overdue need for justice in American society.  Our Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC) deserve equitable access to economic, educational, and social opportunities free from injustice and hatred.  This includes our students and families in the Roselle Park School District community. 

While each of us has a personal responsibility to build a better world, what role can Roselle Park School District as an institution play in bringing about the changes we so desperately need? We can commit more deeply to equity and inclusion, and to listening to one another, valuing every member of our community, recognizing our differences, and embracing one another precisely because of those differences.

We ask you to all join us as we take steps to heal, and that together our community will be one where racism is rejected, where everyone is welcome and respected. The Roselle Park School District’s Equity Committee is sending out resources for students, parents and staff. Further, each school has counselors for students who need to report an act of hate and/or seek support to manage the anxiety and frustration that exposure to hate produces. The following are suggestions on texts that you may wish to share with your child.

School 

Resources: 

Elementary

k-5: 16 ways to help children become thoughtful, informed, and BRAVE about race PDF English    PDF Spanish

Arthur | Arthur on Racism: Talk, Listen, and Act | PBS KIDS 

Middle School 

How to raise kids to be anti-racist and talk to them about racism Video

High School

How to deconstruct racism, one headline at a time TedTalk

                                                                                                 

We are deeply saddened over the senseless and tragic acts of violence last week March 16, 2021 in Georgia. Our hearts are with these families. We stand with our Asian, Asian American and Pacific Islander students and their families and everyone affected by the rising violence against those in the AAPI community. We are committed to working together to make the Roselle Park School District an inclusive and safe place for our students. We support all families during these difficult times. To address these and other violent incidents of intolerance, the Roselle Park School District’s Equity Committee is sending out resources for students, parents and staff. 


Each school has counselors for students who need to report an act of hate and/or seek support to manage the anxiety and frustration that exposure to hate produces. The following are suggestions on texts that you may wish to share with your child. 


School 

Resources: 

Elementary

Pre-K/K: The Empty Pot Read Aloud Link

Eyes That Kiss in the Corners by Joanna Ho Link Read aloud Link

K-3: The Name Jar Read Aloud Link

4-5: Tea With Milk Link

Middle School 

16 Asian American Heroes Our Kids Need to Know About Article 

The Smithsonian Curated Resources Link

High School

Asian Americans in the People’s History of the United States Article

How to teach kids to talk about taboo topics | Liz Kleinrock TedTalk


Building

Counselor

Email

Aldene School

Caroline Gleason

cgleason@rpsd.org

Robert Gordon School

Dena Meawad

dmeawad@rpsd.org

Sherman School

Jamie Halperin

jhalperin@rpsd.org

RPMS (Last Names A-L)

Cathy Pons

cpons@rpsd.org

RPMS (Last Names M-Z)

Joanna Zaraza

jzaraza@rpsd.org

RPMS*

Karena Monzon*

kmonzon@rpsd.org

RPHS (Last Names: A-F)

Mary Baumann

mbaumann@rpsd.org

RPHS (Last Names: G-O)

AnnaMaria Matarredona

amatarredona@rpsd.org

RPHS (Last Names: P-Z)*

Denise Astuto*

dastuto@rpsd.org

RPHS

Andrea Kozodoy

AKozodoy@rpsd.org

*Habla Español